Monday, June 17, 2013

Season Pass Podcast interviews Thea Awards recipients and TEA Summit speakers

Podcasting at the 2013 Thea Awards. L to R: Douglas Barnes, Brent Young, Robert Coker, Andrew Hansen. Photo: Martin Palicki, IPM.
For the third consecutive year the Season Pass Podcast, hosted by Douglas Barnes, is posting audio coverage of the annual Summit and Thea Awards of the Themed Entertainment Association (TEA). The 2013 events are being covered in a 4-part series, for which Barnes, with colleagues Robert Coker and Brent Young, interviewed project owners and creatives about the Thea recipient projects, sharing behind the scenes information and personal journeys.

Part 2 of the four-part series (Episode #236) was released June 16 and includes a conversation with Christine Kerr, President of the TEA & VP of BaAM Productions, discussing Matt Ouimet’s keynote address and TEA's NextGen initiative. Part 2 also includes an interview with Michael Mack (Europa-Park & Mack Rides) on Europa-Park's receiving the Thea Classic Award.

Also in Part 2, Joe Rohde of Walt Disney Imagineering discusses the Aulani Resort on Oahu - named for a Thea Award for Outstanding Achievement.

The previous Episode #234, Part 1 of the TEA Summit/Thea coverage, includes conversations with Frank Stanek, recipient of the Buzz Price Thea Award for a Lifetime of Outstanding Achievements; Bart de Boer, CEO of Efteling, which received a Thea Award for its Aquanura attraction; and a discussion about the creative process with the team behind the Big-O Show from Yeosu Expo 2012.

Also of interest from 2013:
231- The Frank Stanek Interview 4/22/13
229- The Matt Ouimet Interview 3/28/13
228- 2013 Thea Awards Preview w/ Kathy Oliver & Patrick Roberge 3/26/13
227- The Christine Kerr Interview 3/20/13

From 2012:
202- Thea Awards Pt.3-Charles Phoenix, Lorenz Ruittimann, Ron Miziker & More 6/13/12
197- Thea Awards Pt.2-Joe Rohde, Jeremy Railton, Franco Dragone Group & More 4/17/12
196- Thea Awards Pt.1-Joel Manby, Nancy Cartwright, Disney Entertainment & More 4/5/12
191- TEA and Thea Awards Beginnings w/ Rick Rothschild & Ron Miziker 2/6/12

From 2011:
163- The 17th Annual Thea Awards (Part 3) 5/11/11
162- The 17th Annual Thea Awards (Part 2) 4/24/11
161- The 17th Annual Thea Awards (Part 1) 4/17/11
24- The Gene Jeffers (TEA) Interview 04/21/08